consists of 10 handpicked musicians working out of Copenhagen being active on the classical, rock as well as the avant-garde jazz scene.  The band members play with people such as John Tchicai, Herb Robertson and Linda Kallerdahl and in bands such as Bisse, Travelling Tribes and Girls and Airports. In June 2011 the band released their debut-album: “About Time” (as ‘The White Nothing), which was extremely well received by critics nationally and internationally, and was nominated for a danish music awards as ‘best jazz composer’. And in 2015 the band released the album ‘Paths’ which was widely appraised by the press as well as receiving an award from the Danish Arts Council and a nomination for the years best Jazz Album in the 2016 Danish Music Award.

The band plays the music of composer and pianist Anders Filipsen, which is a mix between freely improvised music and composed music mixing modern classical sound with the avantgarde jazz and ambient sounds.

Anders Filipsen       (Synths, Piano and composition)
Elena Setien             (Vocal)
Qarin Wikström      (Vocal)
Emil Jensen             (Trumpet)
Jeppe Højgaard       (Alto sax and clarinet)
Lars Greve                (Tenor sax, Baritone sax and clarinets)
Soma Allpass           (Cello)
Nils Bo Davidsen    (Bass)
Bjørn Heebøl           (Drums)
Mads Emil Nielsen (Live Electronics and live manipulation)

Said of the album ‘About Time:

6 of 6 stars: “A piece of art” (

“Anders Filipsen moves freely between genres, where modern impromusic, avantgarde and jazz is in play. He guides the nonet beautifully between listenable silence and noisy beauty. An impressively high and demanding level for a debutalbum.” (Jazznyt, July, 2011)

 “…Filipsen unfolds his convincing pianistic talent.” (Jazzspecial Norway , August, 2011)

“The Danish pianist and composer Anders Filipsen has, with his nonet “The White Nothing” created a fascinating combination of contemporary music, jazz and improvisations…Filipsen impresses as a pianist…with a devotion that will be exciting to follow.” (Bergens Tidende, July, 2011).

“A mixture from different musical startingpoints which creates vital and foresighted music.” (Orkesterjournalen, 2011).